Paul Ryan has gone rogue. He is unleashed, unchained, off the hook.
“I hate to say this, but if Ryan wants to run for national office again, he’ll probably have to wash the stench of Romney off of him,” Craig Robinson, a former political director of the Republican Party of Iowa, told The New York Times on Sunday.
Coming from a resident of Iowa, a state where people are polite even to soybeans, this was a powerful condemnation of the Republican nominee.
Though Ryan had already decided to distance himself from the floundering Romney campaign, he now feels totally uninhibited. Reportedly, he has been marching around his campaign bus, saying things like, “If Stench calls, take a message” and “Tell Stench I’m having finger sandwiches with Peggy Noonan and will text him later.”
Even before the stench article appeared, there was a strong sign that Ryan was freeing himself from the grips of the Romney campaign. It began after his disastrous appearance on Friday before AARP in New Orleans.
Ryan delivered his remarks in the style dictated by his Romney handlers: Stand behind the lectern, read the speech as written and don’t stray from the script.Ryan brought his 78-year-old mother with him and introduced her to the audience, which is usually a sure crowd pleaser.
But when Ryan began talking about repealing “Obamacare” because he said it would harm seniors, one woman in the crowd shouted, “Lie!” Another shouted “Liar!” and the crowd booed Ryan lustily.
Who boos a guy in front of his 78-year-old mother? Other 78-year-old mothers.
That was Friday, and that was the end of Ryan following the game plan. At a certain point, all running mates on failing campaigns feel they must break free from the manacles placed on them by the top of the ticket. Sarah Palin began pursuing her own path once she learned that John McCain was having strategy sessions with his morning bowl of Farina.
"The Stench?" Holy crap I don't think that even Palin was THAT dismissive of the man at the top of her ticket!
You know I have said it before, but it bears repeating, NOBODY who knows Mitt Romney seems to like him. Apparently Ryan is just the most recent of the Republicans to find themselves put off by Mitt the Twit's arrogance and creepy lack of any definable human traits.
And I think Romney is becoming aware that HE is the drag on the ticket. Did you see his incredibly awkward attempt to hijack a chant for Ryan and try to get them to chant for BOTH of them?
Ooh, EPIC FAIL!
Gee I wonder what this failed VP candidate will call the book HE writes about how the soon to be defeated campaign put him in a box and would not let "Ryan be Ryan?"
Update; Apparently the Politico piece was written as satire. However it was so close to the perception that everybody has concerning the Romney/Ryan relationship that it has been reported as fact all over the internet and on a few news shows as well.
Hiç yorum yok:
Yorum Gönder